The End of the World

2

June 12, 2009 by korshi

One of my favourite books ever is A Night In the Lonesome October by Roger Zelazny; it’s this awesome pastiche about classic horror characters – Rasputin, Frankenstein, Dracula, the Wolfman – indulging in tangled Lovecraftian intrigues, and narrated by Jack the Ripper’s dog.  After I read it for the first time as a teenager I had a dream that it was a boardgame, and the idea floated around my head for over a decade, until recently I reread it and decided to have a go making a game based on it.

I’ve worked most of the rules, but before I test out whether they actually work with the help of some indulgent friends, I need to make the board and the various pieces and cards; here are some rough sketches I’ve done in photoshop over the last few days of some of the characters; I’m not sure how exactly, but printed out suitably small and made to stand up they’ll probably serve as playing pieces.

2 thoughts on “The End of the World

  1. […] End of the World II 20 06 2009 Some more character portraits for the boardgame I’m working on.  Just got the zombie horde and angry mob to go now… they’ll be a […]

  2. Karen says:

    Hi Korshi,

    How are you doing?
    Tried to show a friend the Twisted Kitten site, but it won’t open for me.
    {He was admiring your painting of Tina I had downloaded & framed a while back}{Sorry…}
    Very nice site, love your animal pictures!

    Saw an interesting documentary a while back on CS Lewis- http://www.planetnarnia.com/planet-narnia hadn’t heard of this book/theory till then. How the 7 books represent the different planets.

    I hope you’re doing well, and are happy? That’s all that matters!

    Personally, I’m doing good, but spending far too much time checking out sites like Project Camelot/Avalon, David Icke, Jeff Rense, Alan Watt et al and following links down rabbit-holes…

    Lots of Love from
    Karen & 4 cats in the unusually warm & sunny north!

Leave a Reply

