Space Gods Bring Love

Leave a comment

April 8, 2008 by korshi

The second sketch in the series that started with “Are You A Starseed?” This one takes text from “The Maitreya” by Raël. The book is free on the Raëlian website (although you have to give them your email address); it made me think about the differences between Raëlism and Scientology; both Hubbard and Raël claim to be Maitreya (the future Buddha), and claim that they represent the culmination of Buddhist teaching. The claim is pretty arrogant in either case, but at least Raël’s main teaching is love, and he provides it for free.  Hubbard’s seems to start off from self-centred improvement, grows into to esoteric gobbledygook and will hurt your wallet from day one.

I wasn’t sure whether I should post this, partly because it’s a pretty lazy sketch, and partly because I finished the actual painting based on it earlier today; if all goes well I should be able to scan both of the paintings tomorrow and post them online.  I’m thinking of doing them as a triptych; only problem is I can’t remember what the third one was going to be; must be those bodily thetans interfering with my memory.  I think it might have been something to do with the Exopolitics Institute... that or The Environment.

In other news, managed to find both Voyage to Venus and That Hideous Strength from C. S. Lewis’ Space Trilogy; I found the first one, Out of the Silent Planet, too, but I remember it being a far inferior book to the later two, so I decided to skip it.  I’m looking forward to rereading them now I know a bit about Olaf Stapledon; Lewis’ villain is based on him.

Leave a Reply

